15.Readers wishes

Please write me some lines what more you want me to write about in the book.
Which guitars do you think are the most interesting. Anything else.
If you have any story about Burns I would be happy to put it into the book.
I am also looking for more information about the Burns company in the 80:s.
I have talked to some people working with Jim Burns at that time but the picture
is not clear.
Maybee someting about Aristone guitars? Here is a pick of the head of one an Aristone guitar made by Burns
........

Kommentarer
Postat av: John Pokorny

Hello! I grew up in Sydney, Australia, and in the 1960s there were two or three independent stores which stocked the Burns range. In 1967, I went to a nightclub to hear The Shadows for the first time and noticed at once that Bruce and Hank were BOTH playing a different kind of guitar: the edges were not rounded off. Afterwards, I went backstage and spoke to Hank and asked him about "the new Burns guitars". He at once corrected me and said "It's Baldwin, not Burns!" and proceeded to tell me it was a lighter version of his original "Marvin". The point I wish to make is that Paul Day says in his book that only ONE white S-type (the name for this model) was made, but he's incorrect. Some time ago I found a video of the Shadows from that time on You Tube which features two of these S-types, confirming my memory.

I too was fascinated with the Burns guitars, especially the Marvin. Subsequently, it was a very rare occurrence to see a Burns in any vintage guitar shop, and frankly, proprietors were none too keen on them. I love the shape of the "Jazz Guitar" from the mid-'sixties, but I haven't seen one since that time. Good luck with your book and thank you for the fascinating website. Best wishes, John.

2011-12-20 @ 21:16:07
Postat av: Paul hoenderkamp

PLEASE COULD YOU TRY TO REPLY IN ENGLISH AS MY UNDERSTANDING OF GERMAN IS VERY VERY LIMITED,ALTHOUGH MY FATHER WAS DUTCH,WE WERE NEVER TAUGHT THE LANGUAGE.

2011-12-26 @ 13:55:43
Postat av: transcriber

Play on guitar is very difficult. People must studying very well.


Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0